8 March Releases to Get Excited About

new books to read

We know we’re not the only ones who get excited about new things. Whether it’s a new puppy (Stacy just got one), or a new house (Helen hopes to get one soon) … something smaller like a new dress or finding a favorite new recipe. New ‘things’ are full of anticipation and surprises.

While we’re not giving you a new puppy, new clothes or a new house, we are giving you 8 March Releases to Get Excited About. Some are available to buy today, others you’ll have to preorder. All will add a little something different to the pile of books on your nightstand.

Helen’s List of Must-Read March Releases

exciting new books to read in march

Close Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley (Gallery Books | March 7, 2017) 

“An evocative, poignant, and heartrending exploration of the power and possibilities of the human heart.”

Colleen’s debut novel, Before I Go, was one of the best books I read in 2015 and I’ve been on pins waiting for her next book ever since. I’m reading Close Enough to Touch at the moment and I know I’ll be needing tissues, it’s bound to make me cry. Just as Before I Go did. So I’ve been taking it slow and savoring every word. Buy your copy from Amazon.


Find Me by JS Monroe (Mira Books | March 21st, 2017) 

“A sighting of a woman who supposedly died years ago sparks a desperate search for the truth in this breakout suspense thriller, perfect for readers of The Good Girl and The Widow. | Sometimes we choose to see only what we want. Sometimes what we see changes the way we look at everything.”

I don’t usually pay much attention to blurbs that include “perfect for readers of…”, but 2014’s The Good Girl is one of the best suspense thrillers I have read in quite a few years, and I’ve been searching for the next novel that keeps me guessing until the very last page while offering a fulfilling plot AND that includes characters who I enjoy spending time with. Could Find Me be the one? I’ll let you know. Find out for yourself by preordering from Amazon.


Almost Missed You by Jessica Strawser (St. Martin’s Press | March 28th, 2017) 

“Told through alternating viewpoints of Violet, Finn and Caitlin, Almost Missed You is a powerful story of a mother’s love, a husband’s betrayal, connections that maybe should have been missed, secrets that perhaps shouldn’t have been kept, and spaces between what’s meant to be and what might have been.”

It was actually the cover that drew me to Almost Missed You, but the alternating viewpoints sold me on this debut from Jessica Strawser. Since I’ve been on a bit of a suspense binge, this had to be on my March reading list! It could be on yours too if you preorder from Amazon.


It Happens All the Time by Amy Hatvany (Atria Books | March 28th, 2017) 

“In alternating points of view, It Happens All the Time examines the complexity of sexual dynamics between men and women and offers an incisive exploration of gender roles, expectations, and the ever-timely issue of consent.”

After reading Amy Hatvany’s Somewhere Out There last Spring, I made a vow to seek out some of her backlist titles. But really, who has time for backlist reading when so many amazing must-read books are released ~ Every. Single. Tuesday. Not me. Instead, I’ll be reading the new books Amy writes. Join me in reading It Happens All the Time and preorder from Amazon.

What do puppies, houses, and books have in common? Find out Click To Tweet

Stacy’s List of Must-Read March Releases

 

The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge (Penguin Press | March 7th, 2017) 

“From the award-winning author and New Yorker contributor, a riveting novel about secrets and scandals, psychiatry and pulp fiction, inspired by the lives of H.P. Lovecraft and his circle.” 

While I’m not a huge fan of H.P. Lovecraft I AM a huge fan of books about authors and books about books. Throw in scandals and psychiatry and I’m definitely on board! Psychology was my major in college, and English Lit was my minor. It’s a toss up on any given day as to which I love more – psychology or literature! I’m only on the first chapter of The Night Ocean and it has pulled me in completely! Any fans of H.P. Lovecraft want to join me in reading this one? Order from Amazon.


The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck (William Morrow | March 28th, 2017)

“Combining piercing social insight and vivid historical atmosphere, The Women in the Castle is a dramatic yet nuanced portrait of war and its repercussions that explores what it means to survive, love, and, ultimately, to forgive in the wake of unimaginable hardship.”

When I first read about this book with the comparisons to Sarah’s Key and The Nightingale, I knew I had to read it! World War II changed the world completely. I don’t think there could ever be enough books to exhaust the topic. This one sounds particularly fascinating as it is told from a perspective I’ve not read before. Are you a fan of historical fiction too? Preorder from Amazon.


Mississippi Blood by Greg Iles (William Morrow | March 21st, 2017) 

“With piercing insight, narrative prowess, and a masterful ability to blend history and imagination, New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles illuminates the brutal history of the American South in a highly atmospheric and suspenseful novel that delivers the shocking resolution his fans have eagerly awaited.”

Have you been following the Natchez Burning series? Greg Iles has promised Mississippi Blood will answer all of our questions like who killed Viola, and what happens to Tom. This series reminds me of a modern-day Gone with the Wind, if it were set on the Mississippi River and if GWTW involved enough suspense to kill a cat (I’m NOT recommending killing any animals; however, I am from the South and I do LOVE our analogies). I probably could have just said the Natchez Burning trilogy is an epic suspense series but where’s the fun in the that! Preorder from Amazon and read the grand finale along with me!


The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti (Dial Press | March 28th, 2017) 

“Both a coming-of-age novel and a literary thriller, The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley explores what it means to be a hero, and the cost we pay to protect the people we love most.”

You had me at “both a coming-of-age novel and a literary thriller…” Need I say more? Preorder from Amazon.

What book releases are YOU looking forward to this month?

 

Join
Our Newsletter

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive event updates and bookish news.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Sign up for Monthly Newsletters

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive event updates and bookish news.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.